Honduras Bound

We were going on the Honduras Medical Mission.  There was a private plane.  Michael was going to go but didn’t at the last minute.  The kids were also supposed to go but they had backed out a few months before because there were too many people.

The private plane was smooth – so smooth I couldn’t tell when we took off.There were 2 men I didn’t know.  The first one owned the plane and was very friendly.  Most of us were around the table chatting.  One guy was in a chair to the side with his hands wrapped.  He didn’t want to touch or talk to anyone.  I wondered why on earth he wanted to go on the mission trip.

When we landed, a lady on the plane worked with customs and was trying to smooth the way.  I took some spinach and artichoke dip on a huge bite of bred and was eating as I walked off.

I was making sure everyone got through customs.  A group of young men/boys were with us, and they got pulled to customs for a drinking/alcohol screen. They all came out but were freaking out because they didn’t know where one guy was.  I was trying to call George to see if he already cleared security, but they wouldn’t wait and they forced their way back into the back room.  I was sure they would be arrested and sure enough, George answered and the other guy was already through security.  George pulled up in a car (inside the airport) and the boys came running out.  I yelled “Get in the car now!”  The airport security didn’t bother me.  I had 2 suitcases – the blue and red carryons plus a laptop bag.  I started gathering my stuff up.  Then I took this stuffed animal pillow that didn’t belong to me.  I started to put it back, but then the guy who owned the plane said I should take it because he had touched it.  It was purple.  (There was another one like it that was green.)  There was some confusion about which one he had touched.  I said after the trip, I would donate it to the group he normally donates to.  George came back and I put everything in the trunk.

Leave a Reply

