The rest of the story – Easter in July

Sprinkled throughout the crazy ramblings of my dreams, I’ll try to insert commentary, and more importantly, those stories that compelled me to learn more about what’s going on inside this noggin of mine….

As you might know, we are beginning a capital campaign at the Chapel of the Cross to build a new sanctuary.  This is top of mind, and in fact, there have been a few blog posts that alluded to this.

One day, I called my friend Becky with a  question about the campaign.  After she answered my question, we were just chatting.  She told me that she had been at the Chapel that afternoon, because our friend Bill was looking for paperwork in one of the filing cabinets and couldn’t find it.  She went and got it for him, and she mentioned that while she was in there, she found some old letters from Helen Johnstone, as well as an ornate cross that looked to be very old.  She went on to talk about how we needed to get the letters archived, but I was distracted by the thought of finding an old cross at the church.  Why did that seem so familiar?  Why was I getting a feeling of deja vu?

Once we hung up, I thought that  I vaguely remembered a dream about finding an old cross at the church.  So I flipped back through my trusty dream notebook, and found Easter in July.  I thought to myself, “That’s really weird” and so I called Becky back, and I asked her, “Where did you find the cross?” and she said it was in an old box – like a jewelry box. I read her an excerpt from the dream…

“Toward the end of the service, she made us get up and go through the old boxes that were in the chapel.  In the boxes, there were budgets, jewelry (in particular, a cross necklace), photographs, and stickers.”

At that point, Becky told me that there were also ledgers in there from old cemetery plots, as well as a scrapbook with photographs.

I was a little overwhelmed, and so the next day I asked Ben if I could come in and look at the scrapbook and cross that Becky found.  My “ego” was still trying to explain away the dream as coincidence, and I still wrote off the rest of the dream.  I told myself, “There’s no way there are stickers in with this stuff.  There probably weren’t even stickers back then.”

As I sat down and started flipping through the book, I was stunned, because while there weren’t children’s stickers, spread throughout the scrapbook were labels off of candy, cookies, etc.  Very much like stickers.  And a few pages in, there was an American flag….

Remember, if you will, the earlier part of the dream…

“I noted that the service was strange, although I don’t recall all of the specifics.  There was recorded music (as opposed to our traditional organ music.  There was clapping, and there were American flags (or maybe just one.)”

In the scrapbook, it was noted under this American flag that “these were printed as part of our July 4 service…”

In an almost state of panic, I asked Karen about this in her class “Understanding Your Dreams” that she taught at Millsaps, as part of their Continuing Education series.  She said it’s not alarming, and that there was a theory that linked events (whether waking or dreaming) through time called synchronicity.  I did a little bit of basic reading on the topic in Wikipedia, and found this…

Synchronicity is a concept, first explained by psychiatrist Carl Jung, which holds that events are “meaningful coincidences” if they occur with no causal relationship, yet seem to be meaningfully related.[1] 

In his book Synchronicity: An Acausal Connecting Principle, Jung wrote:[8]

…it is impossible, with our present resources, to explain ESP, or the fact of meaningful coincidence, as a phenomenon of energy. This makes an end of the causal explanation as well, for “effect” cannot be understood as anything except a phenomenon of energy. Therefore it cannot be a question of cause and effect, but of a falling together in time, a kind of simultaneity. Because of this quality of simultaneity, I have picked on the term “synchronicity” to designate a hypothetical factor equal in rank to causality as a principle of explanation.

1-Tarnas, Richard (2006). Cosmos and Psyche. New York: Penguin Group. p. 50. ISBN 0-670-03292-1.

8-Jung, Carl (1973). Synchronicity: An Acausal Connecting Principle (first Princeton/Bollingen paperback ed.). Princeton, New Jersey: Princeton University Press. p. 8. ISBN 978-0-691-15050-5.

And so, the mystery continues.  Why were these things linked to my dream?  Is there more I should know?  I feel compelled to find out who the items belonged to, and why now they should come to my attention.  Perhaps soon there will be “even more to the rest of the story…”

Leave a Reply

