Raise the Roof

I was at work – it was a new site that I had never visited before.  I didn’t know anyone there, but Elizabeth was there and had an office.  I was sitting in a row of cubes just outside her office, and Robert was there as well.

I had been asked to help someone (another employee) coordinate a nonprofit event.  The guy that was in charge of it had sent out a communication, but it wasn’t a very good one.  It didn’t include details about the event, and it didn’t say what day and time it was.  Elizabeth had said that I shouldn’t be sending out the email, but I explained that it had issues and I needed to help him.

Suddenly, it started raining inside the building.  At first, it looked like it was raining just over my desk, but then I realized it was over our whole row.  Robert, another person, and I were going to leave and work from home.  At first, Robert said he was going to move to a different desk, but then I realized he was kidding when he opened the door to the stairwell that led to the garage.  I said I wasn’t going to take the stairs, and that I was going to the elevator.  On the way out, I was thinking that I needed to report this to the facilities team, but I didn’t know who that was.  I said something to a random guy I passed, and it turns out he was a facilities employee, but he was on his way to do something else and so couldn’t fix it, but that he would report it.

Then, as I continued to make my way to the elevator, I ran into the guy who was working on the volunteer event.  He asked for my help again, and so I thought I would stop and help him on my way out.  He gathered all of the employees together who were going to volunteer – they were wearing orange shirts and were in front of the building.  I went on the balcony, and was with Elizabeth and a few other people.  We were brainstorming.  I printed off several copies of the “potty post” newsletters we are really working on at work, and someone said, “We just need _____ (a character that had been used in corporate promos) to be the face of this event.”  Somehow, Elizabeth pulled a drawing off of a page, and it became a stuffed animal that she handed to me.  I was trying to figure out how to get it on the page of the email about the volunteer event.

Then the guy (down on the street with the rest of the volunteers) said “We have some more volunteers on the roof” and I stood up and suddenly we were on the roof, not the balcony, and there was a group of us cheering.

Leave a Reply

