Extreme Geocaching

Last night, my dreams were filled with various forms of geocaching.  It started with a very extreme geocaching  – we were in a school of some sort.  It was dark, and there was security trying to keep us out.  I took off my shoes so I could move around more quietly.  I don’t remember finding the geocache but I also don’t think the security guard caught me.

Then we were out in the ocean, and someone in a wet suit climbed up on a giant ladder (like a fire ladder).  They planted the geocache up high.  I was looking around to try to tell any identifying surroundings.  Again, it was dark, but I could see trees along the outside, and several dark buildings.

Then I went to Elizabeth’s house, and she was doing it online as part of a game.  There were two games – one was star wars related, and you collected different types of gems.  They would combine and make better gems, spinning and making unique sounds.  I thought that was too complicated.  Then we started talking about the online geocaching game.  Parts of it were on the computer and parts of it were live.  Her oldest stepson came in for a little while but didn’t stay.  Then her youngest daughter Sophia came in.  I tried to talk to her but she was pretty shy.  I told her that I thought that the game was hard.  Elizabeth showed me some tips and tricks.  She played with a  different circle of people.

Then I went to a party where everyone was playing.  The only person that I knew there that I saw was my old high school boyfriend David.  I was sitting down with him in the same chair, and he was helping me. There were people milling around and they would occasionally chime in with answers or feedback.  At one point, a girl (woman?) said that I needed to introduce them to Hannah and Dylan because they could in turn introduce them to an advance group.  (They called the group by name.)  I realized I didn’t remember their online names.  I struggled to try to figure out how to introduce the two separate groups of gamers.  A young man walked by and introduced himself as a leader (would have been called a ‘wizard’ back in the days of mucks.)  He said he was known by several names, and one of them had “no” in it.  Then I found a cache with money and a gift card in it.  Someone said that it was replenished regularly to give new players hope.  I was in the process of trying to log everything and count the money when I woke up.


A few initial thoughts on this one.  The first part of the dream in the school – I think that I’m still trying to work through what people think of me.  Taking off my shoes was me changing my persona to try to “hide” this part of myself.  When I did that, while I didn’t get caught, I also did not find the prize.

A ladder is meant to represent getting nearer to God (much like Jacob’s ladder.)  This part was pretty clear that there is a  big prize if I’m brave enough to brave the rough waters and the dark.

Then it transitioned from school to work, and Elizabeth was trying to help me, but it was in a “family” environment.

Karen told me that parties represent the “heavenly” party – a way to get closer to God, and this part of the dream was about making connections.  I found the biggest prize yet, and there were people all around me trying to help me.

I think this whole thing points back to embracing this new, more spiritual part of my life and know that there are people all over who relate.  The prize will be great.

Leave a Reply

