We’re all in this together!

I only remember a few parts of my dream last night.  Our friend Maggie from church was at a party with us.  We were supposed to be making some sort of dessert, and I had been dreading it.  We finally went into the kitchen, and Maggie had already done it!  I was so excited!  When it came time to eat, all of the plates, cups and bowls were stacked up in strange towers, looking much like a balancing act with plates.  I thought that was very interesting and unique.

Snip20160611_11

By Nagyman from (optional) (Flickr) [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0) or CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Later, I was watching a tv show, and it was a show that I had seen before.  In the plot line, the main female character was feeling uncomfortable in a situation, but she learned to be comfortable.  What we realized in the sub-plot was that the other lead character (the male) had been equally uncomfortable and learned the same lesson.  The viewers just didn’t know it at the beginning!


What does this mean?  I think in life, I often feel out of control.  I feel like the various plates I’m balancing may not be as stable as they might be.  I’m told that parties often symbolize the “heavenly party” – much like Jesus spoke of wedding parties.  Clearly, I’m still not comfortable with my responsibility and role in this heavenly party (or how that translates to my time on Earth.)  But – as precarious as things appear to be, I’m learning lessons and it’s really no different than those around me.  We are truly all in this together, learning, and growing, and balancing.

Leave a Reply

