Game of No’s…. A Bad Lesson in Good Preparation

I was supposed to give a workshop. It was three parts- part 1,2, and 3. Part one was in one location (in a conference room at a work setting), then we had to move for part two (to a classroom), then 3 was back in the original. When I went to part two there was an old man who put my box of supplies in a box elevator so I didn’t have to carry it upstairs. I was not well prepared. I completed them out of order and was not thorough. As I was playing the video, I realized I didn’t make copies for people so I tried to pin up the handouts but no one could see them.  I didn’t realize that the guest speaker in part two was famous (the topic was symbolism in Game of Thrones) and there was an actor who spoke to the group but he hadn’t been introduced to what I’ve seen yet- he doesn’t come until a later season. On the way back to the third part, Kathy J was driving me. We pulled into the church parking lot and my old Sitel sales team was there. I was so sad that I hadn’t known they were visiting because now I didn’t have time to see them before they left and went back to India. When we got to the entrance, all the parking spots were full (we were now in a mall-like building not the church.) Kathy had to park in a circle dive. As I got out she gave me $5 so I stopped to get a Diet Coke in the food court of this office. There were long lines at most places and so I went to a new place where the server was on my side of the counter trying to reach over. They served the drinks in plastic bottles that were cut with a knife and then compressed. I gave them $10 to pay and they tried not to give me change. Then I said I needed change so they tried to charge me $3.75. I was furious because it was tiny. I got a small cup from the next stand and it barely filled that up even though they argued that it was large. The drink next door was $.75. When I got into the room, I realized no one was there and so I had to talk to the leader about what to do and I was wondering if I should apologize to the participants for being so ill-prepared.

Leave a Reply

