Taking Count

I arrived at the school for a meeting but the meeting was over/ at first I thought I was lucky to miss it, but then I realized that I was going to have to help do inventory. We had to walk from room to room and wrote down if there were problems – specifically chairs missing or broke computers. We didn’t have a methodical process and were missing rooms. Plus we didn’t actually turn on the computers. I didn’t believe anyone even looked at the report because the same things had been reported before. As we went around I wrote down the names of each room- they were labeled in a sign over the door but they were had to read. The rooms were large lecture style. One room was dedicated to Christmas and at first there was no decoration but then we realized the teacher was bringing one item out at a time. The most recent item she brought out was a lacy bra that matched her clothes. At one point I was in a nursery and had used my pencil down to the nub. I went to sharpen it but the sharpener was so tall it was out of my reach plus there was nothing left to sharpen. I took a pencil from the cup on the desk instead.

Leave a Reply

