The Games We Play

Last night I dreamed I was in a live video game. I was taking care of two children – a boy and a girl. I don’t remember them clearly, but it seems like they were spoiled and very bratty. We were playing a live video game. In the game, there were two components, a “story” component that included mysteries that needed to be figured out and a racing part where you were in cars that went very, very fast and the goal was to beat everyone else. The racing was set up as boys vs. girls. There were also dogs involved, though I don’t know how. I started on the story part, and I was in a hallway going through different doors trying to find something. I finished with the racing part, and it was really fun – I was going super fast and didn’t want to stop.


Because I didn’t write the whole dream down when I woke up, I lost a lot of the details. However, I’m certain that this dream stems from my participation in the Women’s March on Jackson yesterday. Obviously, the clear distinction between boys and girls reflects some of the core missions promoted by the march. I also think that most people (on both the left and the right) are acting unprofessionally and unproductively – perhaps aligning with the “naughty” boy and girl in the dream. I definitely feel conflicted between the call for action positioned against the need for meditation and taking time to really understand and listen.

Leave a Reply

