Party Time in a Hospital Bathroom

I dreamed that I was volunteering in a hospital of some sort. It wasn’t a traditional hospital, and I’m not exactly sure what I was doing there. I was wearing blue jean shorts and a shirt, and everyone wore aprons over their outfits. I realized partway through that I should have been wearing the scrubs I have for the HMM – I would have been much more comfortable. When we walked in, we had to go through a classroom where my high school science teacher was teaching a class.  He always got mad that we interrupted his class, but I didn’t know any other way to get to the room I needed to be in.

One day after we got yelled at for interrupting a class, we went out the other side of the room to find an alternative entrance. This led us to a totally different part of the building.  One room was a huge room I’d seen on tv with purples and sheer curtains. I was starstruck! It was not used as a “hospital” but in some sort of entertainment capacity with famous people. I wanted to sit in one of the chairs but I didn’t. I went around to another section and needed to go to the bathroom. I saw a bathroom labeled “fecal” which I thought was a typo for female. When I went in though, there was a weird poop disposal system and a urinal-like contraption. There was no toilet I could use. I thought about trying to use the poop disposal thing but was worried about the cleanliness. So then I went around the corner and found other restrooms. When I opened the women’s door, there were two huge halves, and both were reserved for a birthday party. The main one, which was a private stall, was decorated and gilded in gold. It was reserved for the girl whose birthday it was. The other half, with multiple stalls, was reserved for the guests. I was very unhappy because I couldn’t find anywhere I could use.


I think that a lot of this dream relates to the building project at our church. We’ve had a lot of discussion about bathrooms, and the need for a family bathroom. I think that the clothes represent my persona and the fact that I’m not necessarily comfortable in the role that I’m in. The fact that my high school science teacher was there and making me find a different path is interesting. He always said that you had to hate kids to be a teacher or you would drive yourself crazy. I’ll have to think about why he was there.  Maybe because I didn’t really want to be involved with the design process, and now I’m leading the committee? If I cared too much about the outcome, I wouldn’t be a good fit for that.

Leave a Reply

