Escaping the Escape Room

I’m in Atlanta this week for a work meeting, and tonight we are going to an escape room.  I’m super excited. Last night I felt like I dreamed about that all night, so I woke up exhausted!  What’s interesting is the detail of my dream…

I dreamed that my colleague Gary had been to this escape room before, and he told us that the secret was that each of the five buildings were named after the days of the week. At the time, that didn’t mean anything to me, but when we got there, that ruined the experience! We arrived, and the place was set up with five separate buildings inside a large warehouse that were all on motorized bases. There were tables set up outside each house for our dinner. We were supposed to have had two different groups, but those of us who arrived first just went on in and started.  There was a man inside on stilts, and he looked huge. He told his story, and kept stuttering as he said the word “Monday” and so immediately we all knew that we had to leave this building and go to the first building that was named Monday to solve the puzzle. I had decided to go ahead and try to figure it out without Gary’s hint. The man on stilts was smoking a cigarette that had a really strong scent. For some reason, I think it was sandlewood. I had to take my inhaler.  Then the lights went out and the house started rocking.  When it stopped, the man was gone and we were locked in. The building looked like my bedroom at home, and the drawers had my content in them. So in my mind, it was a holographic overlay. I found a bracelet on the wall with a tiny key, and the tiny key opened a tiny lock, but I didn’t see what was inside. A couple of people left immediately to go “solve” it (including my old high school friend Kristal), which made me mad. I also dreamed that Julie and Corey (two colleagues who went to the Hawks game instead of dinner) stayed out all night and met us there.

Leave a Reply

