A Long Leash for Our Clients

I dreamed I was at work in a fancy new building, and there were six very important people coming for a visit. I’m not sure if they were clients or customers, but I was tasked with planning the visit. Elizabeth had talked to the receptionist (who I didn’t know) and put my name on the welcome board as chair of the “wall” committee which was apparently the job of getting the rooms ready. There was a huge conference room that wasn’t closed off but was open to the lobby, and there was a big table and a small table in it. I was waiting on a tablecloth to be added to the big table. When it finally got there, I started setting out food.  Evidently, we made our own brands of food. There were egg rolls and a tart/pie (kind of like the old McDonald’s apple pies.) They had sent some that had two versions – Before (wrapped) and After (unwrapped.) I had found some cute plates in the cabinets in the room and so was working on staging the food. There was also a french fry holder that was really cute but we didn’t have any fries. There were other people (who brought the table cloth) that were setting out fancy plates and silverware.

Meanwhile, the six people came in. It was five women and a man, and the man stayed in the other room. They were very brisk and in a hurry and they were early (before the room was ready.)  So I seated them somewhere else. In the meantime, we were supposed to be celebrating my old high school friend Alison’s birthday. Everyone was upset because I didn’t have time to do it and set up.  So they brought everything into that room. Sadly, the only thing that we had were these little cookie/cracker sticks in a can (kind of like the breadsticks at Newks) but they were dirty shapes like you might have at a bridal shower.  I couldn’t even find the gift I had for her.  And everyone was eating at the big table and I was worried it would get dirty before the clients came in.

Once that was over, I had to get copies of the call forwarding. The process hadn’t worked as designed, and so I was trying to get the list from the man in the other room. He was annoyed and trying to leave.  I gave everyone the dinner plans and they left. I was a little worried about the food I’d set out because now it was going to be cold for the next morning.

In the lobby, there were two elevators and two stairwells. Someone pointed out that if there was a fire in the lobby we would all be trapped, and I argued we could take the stairs. They said there was no outside exit. I argued, and so we walked to the bottom and it just emptied out into an indoor atrium fully enclosed.

When I went back up, it was time to leave. Buster was there and there were two ladies who said how cute he was. I asked if he was ready to leave and he started tearing around the lobby in circles.  I caught him as he almost went down the elevator with a man and pulled him back.  His leash was hanging in the other elevator wrapped around a blue wire.  When I pulled it down, the wire set off an alarm and the people at the desk were upset. They said they’d just gotten it fixed, but I asked why they wrapped the leash around it then.

Leave a Reply

